Today, I resigned from a job that I love. Sure it’s had its ups and downs, its tough days, days when I thought I couldn’t possibly muster the strength or patience to walk through that classroom door the next day. But most days were full of more laughter than tears, more breakthroughs than breakdowns, more learning than losing.

Recently my husband and I decided to take a leap of faith and move to La Paz, Bolivia. I will be working as a high school social studies teacher, and he will be working remotely as an IT project manager for a software development company while also volunteering at the school. We are so, so excited about this opportunity to do what we love career-wise while also having the opportunity to serve others and the Lord in La Paz.

But this decision has not been an easy one. Over the past couple of years we have loved our life in Indianapolis – our work, friends, church, cozy apartment, and the nearness of our families. We are losing a lot of constants. A lot of knowns. Controllables. We’re trading those things for a lot of unknowns. I traditionally do not do well with things I can’t control. I like to know my options. I like to plan my route. None of us like to admit it, but we like to be comfortable. We want the road-mapped life –  college, marriage, house, kids. Vacations? Sure! But actually moving away from safety and family? Tougher than we want to admit. Throughout this process of applying and interviewing, I’ve been tempted to focus on the unknowns. I’ve been scared and at times I’ve even second guessed the whole thing. On the other hand, I’ve experienced a lot of peace throughout this process.

In the midst of unknowns there are still a lot of knowns. I know that God is sovereign and faithful. I know that I have a fantastic husband who will be with me wherever in the world we live. I know that our family and friends will be supportive of us as we make this transition. All those things provide so much peace, even in the midst of the unknowns.

I took this photo from inside the Pantheon in Rome during a trip with my current students (one of the many, many reasons I love my current job). I feel like it’s a good metaphor for where I’m at right now with this whole moving process. Currently there are a lot of unknowns and things I can’t see. However, there is still peace, still a glimpse of what we’re heading towards for these next few years shining in. And it’s bright and beautiful, and it looks like its going to be worth it. Worth the goodbyes, and the unease, and the bittersweetness of leaving this job and apartment and church for a new adventure.

Psalm 85:8 “I will listen to what God the Lord says; He promises peace to His people, His faithful servants.”

2 Thessalonians 3:16 “Now may the Lord of peace Himself give you peace at all times and in every way.”

One thought on “Peace in Unknowns

  1. We are so proud of you both!! We will be praying for you and look forward to keeping up with you both on this blog!! You have an incredible adventure ahead of you !! Can’t wait to hear how God uses you both!! What a blessing you will be those children and what a blessing those children will be to you !!❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

