My dad always told me that being a farmer has done more for his faith than almost anything else in his life. After all the hard work and planting, it is really up to God to bring the right weather and conditions to secure a good harvest.

This past week, Andrew and I were able to travel to Michigan and Illinois to see our extended families – grandparents, sibling, parents, cousins, aunts and uncles. It was a wonderful time of rest for us, and we really needed to spend some quality time with our family before heading off to South America in a month. At the beginning of the week, however, I was having trouble being present with my family members. There were so many things running through the back of my mind. “When will we pack up all the pots, pans, and dishes still in our kitchen cabinets?… What if I send in our visa applications too late and we don’t get them back in time for our flight?… What if we can’t find flights for a good price?…” And the list of questions and worries goes on and on.

Seeing these little corn plants starting to grow in my dad’s field reminded me of what he used to tell me about farming and faith. Matthew 6:25-26 says, “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food and the moody more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns; and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” When we worry, we are only doubting God’s ability to provide for us. Just as my dad trusts that the Lord will send the right amount of sun and rain for his crops to grow, I need to trust that somehow God will carve out a few hours of my time to make packing go easier and make sure our flights and visas are all set before we go. And if things don’t go according to my plan, there will be a reason for that, too.

I’m so thankful for the reminder that these little plants gave me this past week, and I’m so thankful that that reminder came in time for me to set aside my worries and enjoy my time with family. The Lord provides for us and loves us. The less we worry, the more opportunity He has to wow us with His plans and provision.

2 thoughts on “What a Tiny Green Plant Taught Me

  1. Kind of like you. Such a small plant 25 years ago, but look what God did with a little help from parents, family, friends, and your submission to Him. Continue to bathe in the “Sonshine” and grow in His will for your lives. Love you guys … Prayers continue.

    Like

  2. Sarah, and Andrew, Love reading your well written, thoughtful, and inspiring blog! God speed, and may God use your willing and able hearts and abilities to spread His kingdom while teaching and working at the school in Bolivia. We will miss you, but Oh so Proud of you. Loved the corn story!
    love, a. sharon and u bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

