I recently was nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award by my friend (who also happens to be my cousin!) Valerie of Valerie’s Musings. Valerie is a librarian who is passionate about reading, and her blog is chock full of great book reviews for all genres. I encourage you to check it out!

sunshune

The Sunshine Blogger Award is a way for bloggers to recognize one another and get to know each other a bit better. Each blogger nominated is asked a series of questions by their nominator to answer, so without further ado, here’s a little bit more about me and my blog…

Question 1: Please tell us what your blog is about and why you chose to blog about that.

This past year, my husband and I moved to La Paz, Bolivia to work at an international Christian school. I have always loved to write, and some of my friends encouraged me to start a blog to keep people back home informed about our ministry and travels throughout South America. I decided to go for it and have really enjoyed the process so far! My blog focuses on three main “categories” of posts: Truth, Teaching, and Travel.

Question 2: If you had to choose just one book to read for the rest of your life, not including holy texts or Shakespeare, what would you choose?

Wow, that is a tough one! I really love to read… there a few things better than curling up with a good book on a lazy morning. If I had to choose only one book to read forever, I think it would be Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. When I first read it several years ago it changed my life unlike any work of fiction I’ve ever read, and I have returned to it several times since then. It is a truly wonderful and impacting read!

Question 3: Where is your favorite place to write your blog? At home? In a coffee shop or park? Why?

Usually I write sitting on the couch in my living room, flipping through my personal journals until I find something I’d like to share with followers.

Question 4: If you could spend one day with anyone, realistic or fictional, who would you want to spend your day with and why?

WOW! As both a history nerd and a book nerd, this is a tricky question! I feel like I could fill an entire page with people I’d like to meet – real or imagined! I’m going to cheat on this question and choose one of each. If I had to choose one historical figure to spend the day with it would probably be President Harry S Truman. He had to make a ton of tough decisions, and it would be interesting to hear his thoughts. If I had to choose one fictional character to spend the day with it would be Count Alexander Rostov from Amor Towles’ new novel A Gentleman in Moscow. Such a good read and an interesting character!

Question 5: What hobbies do you have outside of blogging?

Andrew and I both enjoy being outdoors, and Bolivia is an excellent place for all sorts of outdoor and adventure activities! We like to play sports, hike, and recently we have gotten into rock climbing as well. Put me outside on a sunny day and I’m a happy camper!

Question 6: Do you like to travel? If so, where is the one place that you really want to go and haven’t been yet? If you don’t, why don’t you?

Of course, I love traveling! While living in La Paz we’ve been able to travel to several places within South America and have really enjoyed the experience. The top three places on my travel bucket list are Patagonia, Scotland, and Southeast Asia. Hopefully we can get out and do some trekking in these places in the upcoming years!

Question 7: If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live and why?

Although I never imagined I would end up living in Bolivia, I have really loved it here! However, if I could choose anywhere in the world to settle down, I would probably choose a big lake house on the shore of Lake Michigan. It seems strange, I know, to have the whole world opened up and choose something so close to where I grew up, but home is home. I love living abroad and experiencing new cultures, but there’s something about Michigan that will always hold a special place in my heart.

Question 8: What fictional world (book, tv show, movie universe, etc.) would you like to live in the most and why?

Probably the Marvel universe. It would be cool to be friends with Captain America and Iron Man.

Question 9: Who has been the one person outside of your family who has had the greatest impact on your life?

First off, I’d just like to note that my family is INCREDIBLE, every one of them, and I would be nowhere without their love, encouragement, and prayer support in my life. Second, to answer the question, I think I would have to say my fifth grade social studies teacher, Mrs. Wetzler. She made me fall in love with history for the first time and was an awesome, hands-on teacher. She was a big part of my decision to become a social studies teacher.

Question 10: Which song or songs have had the most influence on your life? Why?

Music is wonderful. Anyone who knows me can tell you I am almost always blasting a varied playlist of genres and artists whenever I can. My favorite song ever is definitely “In Christ Alone.” I tear up almost every time it’s playing, and it is a great reminder of where my hope really is found. Another favorite of mine is “Swim” by Jack’s Mannequin because it always helps me calm down and focus when I’m feeling stressed out or overwhelmed.

Question 11: If you were given $100 to spend on something you wanted but didn’t need, what would you spend it on and why? 

Flights to someplace new! I would look up whatever place I could get to for one hundred bucks and hop on a plane for an adventure!

Now you know a bit more about me and the ketchusifucan blog! Thanks for reading.

Here are my nominees for the Sunshine Blogger Award:

  1. Through the Stillness
  2. Christelle Lerryn Blog
  3. The Traveling Diary of a Dippy-Dotty Girl 
  4. The Rising Damsel
  5. The Teaching Cove
  6. My Southern Sweet Tooth
  7. Always Jeszelle
  8. Sara Brunsvold Blog
  9. Just a Closer Walk with Thee
  10. First Belle
  11. At Home with Daneen

Nominees, here are the rules for the award:

1 – Thank and link your nominator.

2 – Answer the 11 questions below.

3 – Nominate 11 other people and ask them 11 questions of your choice.

4 – List the rules and display the award.

Nominees, here are my questions for you: 

Question 1: What is your blog about and why did you choose that topic?

Question 2: Besides blogging, what are your hobbies?

Question 3: Where has been your favorite travel location and why? OR Where do you want to travel next and why?

Question 4: If you could recommend one book to your readers, which would you recommend and why?

Question 5: What is one message you most want your readers to take away each time they visit your blog?

Question 6: Best inspirational music to listen to while writing? Could be a genre, certain songs, soundtrack, artist, etc.

Question 7: What is at the top of your bucket list?

Question 8: Which of your blog posts is your personal favorite? Why?

Question 9: What are your top three most practical tips for your readers? (This will vary depending on your blog’s topic… could be travel tips, practical life tips, etc.)

Question 10: If you had to choose three things that you are most passionate about, what would those three things be?

Question 11: Who has been one person outside of your family that had the biggest impact on your life?

5 thoughts on “A Ray of Sunshine

  1. Great blog Sarah. Love the questions. Your answers make me want to look up the books and read. Mrs Wetzler would be honored Love you much

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

Leave a Reply

